• Follow Lee County Sheriff on Facebook
  • Follow Lee County Sheriff on Twitter
  • Follow Lee County Sheriff on Google+
(662) 680-6037

Author Archive

2024 Basic DARE Officer Trainings

Posted on: August 14th, 2023

2024 Basic MS/AL DARE Officer Training February 12 – 22, 2024 Lake Tiak O’Khata, Louisville, MS Cost is $1,699 and includes lodging, lunches, materials, supplies, breaks, and training COMPLETED application with required attachments MUST be received via email to secure a slot DARE Officer Training Application Contact: Lt. Sheri Hall – 662.871.4807 SEND EMAIL

...view more

2023 MS DARE Officer of the Year

Posted on: August 7th, 2023

We would like to congratulate REUBEN SABIO, Biloxi PD for receiving the 2023 MS DARE Officer of the Year Award. SABIO has a distinguished military career, as well as in law enforcement. He is well respected and well-loved by his DARE students and school staff. He recently retired in Nov of 2022, but returned to […]

...view more

2023 Summer Training In-Service MS/AL

Posted on: July 25th, 2023

  Dates: July 19 – 20, 2023 Training begins 8am Wednesday, July 19, 2023 and ends on Thursday afternoon, July 20, 2023 Location (host hotel & where in-service will be held): COURTYARD BEACHFRONT, Gulfport, MS 169.o0 per night (check in on Tuesday, July 18 and check out on Friday, July 21) Click here to book […]

...view more

2023 Mississippi DARE Scholarship Opportunities

Posted on: November 30th, 2022

The DARE Officers Association of Mississippi is proud to announce three $500 scholarships available for Mississippi students in 2023. The link to the packet is below – It includes information, requirements, and dates/deadlines: download:  2023 scholarship package There will be one winner in each region: North Mississippi, Central Mississippi, & South Mississippi.  

...view more

MS/AL State Educator Chosen as the 2022 National DARE Educator of the Year

Posted on: August 27th, 2022

Our very own State Educator, Sharon Martin Roth, was chosen as the 2022 National DARE Educator of the Year by DARE America.  Mrs. Roth has spent over 20 years investing in young people as a classroom teacher. Mrs. Roth has a Master’s Degree in Curriculum and Instruction and an endorsement in k-12 online instruction and […]

...view more

2022 DARE Officer of the Year – MS

Posted on: July 29th, 2022

2022 Deputy Larry Duncan, Alcorn County Sheriff’s Department (photo coming toon) 2021 2020 Officer Wayne Miller, Biloxi Police Department 2019 Officer Latoria Kimble, Vicksburg Warren School District 2018 Officer Henry Minor, Olive Branch PD

...view more

DOAM Scholarship Recipients

Posted on: July 20th, 2022

2022 Scholarship Winner Jordan Springer, Mooreville High School 2020 Scholarship Winners  

...view more

2019 DARE Classroom Educator of the Year

Posted on: July 6th, 2020

2019 DARE Classroom Educator of the Year Ms. Sharon Martin, Guntown Middle School Pictured L to R: Henry Minor, Olive Branch PD; Wanda Lindsey, Amory PD; Sharon Martin; Sheri Hall, Lee Co SO; Tonya McWhirter, Louisville PD, Latoria Kimble, Vicksburg-Warren School District; and Mark Gilmore, Kosciusko PD _____________________________________________ 2018 DARE Classroom Educator of the Year […]

...view more

DARE Mississippi College Scholarships

Posted on: September 5th, 2018

2019 1. Windfield Sweatman IV, St. Patrick Catholic High School 2.  Malyn Davis, Magnolia Heights School 3. Devin Putney, Hatley High School 4. Mauria Ferrell, Saltillo High School +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ 2018 The DARE Officers Association of MS is proud to announce the winners of the $500 2018 DOAM Scholarships: Kenzye Simmons, Saltillo High School 2. John […]

...view more

DARE Officer Training Class #41

Posted on: August 25th, 2018

Congratulations to the 21 new DARE Officers from MS, AL, and CA.

...view more